New Tennessee Law Bans Holding Mobile Phones While Driving, Violators Face Up To $200 Fine

Drivers in Tennessee are facing a new law that bans usage of your phone while you are driving thanks to Bill HB0164 being approved. Though many will not like this law, there will be many who will ‘love’ it.

Simply put, using your handheld phone while driving will distract you and it only takes a second to cause an accident when you are distracted.

Beginning July 1, 2019, the law will go into effect and there will be fines for those found in violation.

1st Offense – $50 fine (possibly waived by completing driver education course)
3rd Offense or Wreck – $100
Work zone or school zone (when warning flashers are on) – $200
A ban on texting while driving has already been in effect. TCA 55-8-199

Law enforcement, first responders (paramedics, emergency medical technicians, police officers, firefighters, rescuers, and other trained members) and utility workers are excluded from the law as well as those making emergency calls.

Instead of physically using a handheld device, drivers are encouraged to either use their speaker phone or purchase a bluetooth earpiece/headset, smartwatch or dashboard mount.

For more Tennessee driver laws, check out the Top Ten Traffic Safety Laws for TN Visitors by The Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security.

Recommended Video

Memphis Rap Unreleased Video Footage: GNerd, DPKOM & Ryan Buckin, Jookin to Yo Gotti's "Harder"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *